SUNY Faculty Senate

  • The SUNY Board of Trustees approved the creation of the University Faculty Senate on October 8, 1953 as “the official agency through which the University Faculty engages in the governance of the University. The Senate shall be concerned with effective educational policies and other professional matters within the University.”
  • The UFS membership consists of the Chancellor of the University, two University representatives having University-wide responsibilities and representatives from each State-operated unit and contract college. This is a total of 33 SUNY colleges, making the University Faculty Senate one of the largest faculty governance organizations in the country.
  • The University Faculty Senate serves as a resource on governance for the University. It serves as a deliberative body on educational policies for the SUNY System. In this capacity it issues publications such as handbooks, directories and reports on matters such as budget, program revision and presidential searches.